Birthday Girl

Orange Cream Cupcakes from Marie Antoinette's Gluten-Free Bakery Shoppe -- Happy Birthday to me!
Delicious orange cream cupcakes from Marie Antoinette’s Gluten-Free Bakery Shoppe

My birthday was last week, and while I’ve never been someone to make a big deal out of my special day, I thought it might be fun to do something frivolous.  I didn’t really have any plans…well, I take that back. I had a LOT of plans, but only one afternoon.

It was tempting to get a massage, or just stay home and read (I’m dying to finish the book I’ve started!), but since I theoretically can do those any time, the lure of getting out of town won out.  And how decadent is that.  A mini road trip for no reason other than “because I want to.” I’m very frugal when it comes to gas, but seriously:  my favorite gluten-free bakery is only an hour away, and after last week’s 4 snow days at home with the Little Nugget, I was happy to have only the antique shops calling my name, even if only for an afternoon.

IMG_20140211_133549

The alone time gave my mind a much-needed recharge and I even managed to pick up a few goodies after lunch.  It felt good to get home, and even better to come home to this:

IMG_20140212_095308

I’d say it was a good birthday :)

Leave a Reply

