A River Runs Through It

I guess you could say that I’m not the most patient person. So maybe gardening isn’t the best hobby for me.  Here’s how I roll. Spring comes and I get an irresistible urge to buy plants. Lots of them. I plant them. And they just sit there. And sit there. Now I know that plants have their own growth patterns, likes and dislikes (picky bastards), but why is it that if you have a bare patch of dirt, uninvited guests such as wild violets can set up shop in less than 5 minutes and my god-forsaken creepy thyme just sits there on its lazy ass doing nothing for months?!!! You’re groundcover–cover something for the love of God!!!! The weeds are covering the dirt, why can’t you???

So here’s what I want the garden to look like: (oh yeah, I also built that rock wall this spring–that ROCKS! he-he!)

Aaand, here’s what it looks like now:

I had to let the weeds take over to keep the remaining soil in place (yes, I HAD to! Saves time on weeding too–oh I HAVE to leave that weed there!). So here was the plan, the dream, the vision: eliminate a large chunk of yard (thereby reducing our mowing duties) by creating a large rock wall with groundcover/lawn replacement. I wanted Irish moss originally, but jeez that’s expensive, so we went with creeping/creepy thyme seeds. NOTHING!!! I think I’ve gotten maybe 5 plants from that batch, and they are about 1inch long now–woo-hoo! So much for ground cover. In a desperate attempt to prevent further soil erosion, I broke down and bought the plants. They are happy, but SLOW. Team Nugget Gardening Tip # 562: never trust the internet for plant research. EVERYTHING I thought was sacred and true about the info I found on my plants has been WRONG!!! I digress. The rose moss is doing well, I’m happy with that, though some flowers would be nice so we can ensure we have pretty flowers next year and I don’t have to repeat this mess.
The tree proved to be a bit of a problem during rain storms, which we have been getting our fair share of the drenching rain, so I slowed the water rushing down the trunk with some mulch, rocks, sedum, scottish moss and the occasional well-placed weed. It’s better, but still eroding the precious soil that I painstakingly dug up and hauled into that spot–with the silly assumption that it would stay there.
To quote the wise words of the Bug, “Grrrr.”  I wanted to give the groundcover a chance to cover, but I may just have to mulch. Fiddly-foo.
Leave a Reply

